Orrin Woodward LIFE Leadership Team

Winner of the 2011 Independent Association of Business Top Leader Award; Orrin Woodward shares his leadership secrets.

  • Orrin Woodward


    This is the blog where leaders come to learn with NY Times, Wall St. Journal, USA Today, Money & Business Weekly best selling co-author of Launching a Leadership Revolution & 2011 IAB Top Leadership Award winner - . This blog is an Alltop selection and ranked in HR's Top 100 Blogs for Management & Leadership.

  • Orrin Woodward on Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.




IAB Leadership Award Thank-You’s

Posted by Orrin Woodward on January 3, 2012

After receiving the news that I was awarded the Independent Association of Business (IAB) Top Leaders Award, my mind immediately reflected back to all the people who encouraged me on my leadership journey. I first want to thank the IAB for this prestigious award. I am truly humbled and honored at the same time. I also would like to share this honor with each of the leaders mentioned below, since it was thanks to their contributions into my life that made this award possible in the first place.

I will begin by thanking the LIFE TEAM community. Leadership, by definition, is a team sport and I have been blessed with the most enthusiastic, hungry, and driven community of winners in the world. This isn’t hyperbole, as I have never witnessed anything quite like the LIFE TEAM leaders. In fact,  no one could afford the level of service provided consistently by the leaders if they charged by the hour. Thankfully, the leaders are long-term thinkers, knowing that through serving people, eventually others become leaders willing to serve as well. This process creates positive duplication, forming a winning culture that rises the tide for all ships. Thank you LIFE TEAM leaders!

I would like to thank the Policy Council (Chris Brady, Tim Marks, Claude Hamilton, George Guzzardo, Bill Lewis, and Dan Hawkins) for their superhuman effort to lift the TEAM community and the LIFE business to excellence. Surrounding myself with this caliber of leadership has made all the difference in my leadership journey. Each one of these men displayed unwavering courage to do what is right regardless of the personal sacrifice demanded. I could write complete books on each of these great men as they are true heroes to me. Thank you PC and LIFE Founders!

I would like to thank Dallin Larsen (2009 Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year) for believing in the vision of the TEAM PC enough to get in the ring and fight for it. Instead of cowering on the sidelines, Dallin stepped into the ring, willingly sacrificing his peace, money and time to help the TEAM stand on its principles. Without Dallin, its questionable whether the TEAM could have endured the punitive legal and financial war. Dallin Larsen shined his light into the darkness, providing a principled path to freedom. Thank you Dallin Larsen!

I would like to thank Larry and Marsie VanBuskirk for introducing Laurie and me to community building. Even though the business model he introduced was outdated and had many shortcomings, it was the VanBuskirks’ posture that helped us believe we could change through improved leadership. Indeed, it was Larry who scribbled down three books (Magic of Thinking Big, Psychology of Winning, and Seven Habits), which started me on my leadership journey. He spoke with such conviction that I wanted to believe him and this belief changed our lives. Thank you Larry and Marsie VanBuskirk!

I would like to thank Art Jonak for his immeasurable encouragement. Art, along with his wonderful faculty and students from his MasterMind Events, spoke encouraging words to me during an exceptionally tough period of time. You all know who you are and I will never forget the level of kindness displayed. Art has been a true friend to me when I needed one the most. His unconditional love, belief, and advice during my desert experiences were invaluable. It is the many friends I am blessed with like Art that make the leadership journey worthwhile. Thank you Art Jonak!

I would like to thank my mom and dad (Kathy and Orrin “Bud” Woodward). When I was young, I remember my dad and mom teaching me two invaluable lessons that stuck with me ever since. The first is to work hard which my mom displays every single day or her life. In fact, I can remember as a kid wondering why she wouldn’t just sit still for a bit. 🙂 She was constantly improving something around the yard, house, or community. My dad, on the other hand, was constantly thinking. There was never a day, where after arriving home from work, that he wasn’t thinking and sharing on some subject he was researching. He was always dreaming up potential solutions to the problems of life. It was this combination of hard work and thinking that was foundational in my leadership journey. My mom is still working hard on earth and I am sure my dad is still thinking continuously in his heavenly home. Thank you mom and dad!

I could not finish my thank you’s without including my amazing wife, Laurie. How was I to know what a champion this young lady was when I met her? Yes, I knew from the start that she was beautiful, smart, and genuine. However, what I only learned through the leadership journey was her indomitable will to win; her sacrificial love for those in need; and her endless reserve of energy to finish what she started. No one in his right mind could expect the level of commitment and patience that Laurie displays daily. Not only is she a superb mother for our four wonderful children, but she is my soulmate who somehow understands my crazy dreams. She simply is a blessing from above. Thank you Laurie Woodward!

Which brings me to my final thank you. I thank Jesus Christ for saving a ruined sinner like me. I was living a life only for myself until He slowly taught me the meaning of true grace. The Bible says it’s more blessed to give than receive; however, it’s also easier to say it than to live it. The grace and mercy I received from Christ, forgiving my sins can never be repaid directly. Thankfully, with His guiding hand, I plan to pay as much of this grace forward into other people’s lives as possible. It’s the least I can do for Him who gave Himself so freely to me.

I know I have missed many others names who deserve specific recognition. However, in order to keep this blog a reasonable length, I will end here. Please know how thankful I am to everyone who wrote letters, commented on my blog, encouraged me in person, or served another human being sacrificially. If enough people like you shine their lights, we can scatter the darkness in this world! Let’s make 2012 a monumental year to remember. Sincerely, Orrin Woodward

25 Responses to “IAB Leadership Award Thank-You’s”

  1. Jamin said

    congratulations Orrin on a job well done.

  2. Tim and Claudia said

    Congratulations Orrin! A well deserved honor! THank-you for being a man worthy of following.

  3. Congratulations!

  4. Absolutely deserving of this award…Congrats! It’s amazing how everything we do in LIFE TEAM is set up as a TEAM victory…..every part of the ‘body’ has a function to work together….1 Corinthians 12…..totally exemplified in the body if the LIFE TEAM….so humbled to be a part if this business!

  5. Maribel Damphousse said

    Thank you, Orrin, for your faithfulness to what God has put in your heart. This recognition is another testimony of what LIFE TEAM is all about… raising leaders in the world and for the world and you, the PC and the upcoming leaders, are a shining example of what true leadership is. Our continuous prayer support goes to you all. Congratulations!

  6. Orrin
    It was wonderful to see the world recognizing the effort and love for your team and your country that you have shown over the years. I can witness that it wasn’t easy, and there were many trials about which the world may never know. It has been a privilege and an honor to be counted as your friend and as a part of your Team. God has blessed your obedient service to His word, and my heart knows that He will continue to do so.

  7. ransom22 said

    Congratulations!!

  8. Penny Tahtinen said

    Congratulations Orrin! Thank you for all you do. I am very excited to working with Team/LIFE, the Mielke’s, Hawkin’s and Woodward’s. I am so thankful to be able to dream agian for myself, my family and my future. Thank you Orrin! God Bless.

  9. Orrin,
    Congratulations on this great award and thank you for your courage. Your appreciation for the people in your life can be felt with your words. I especially like your tribute to your parents and the hardworking leadership example they provided you.
    Steve Leurquin

  10. Lisa Mangold said

    Dear Orrin & Laurie,

    Once again, we are humbled and honored to be following such great leadership! Thank you for setting the example of doing that which is much easier to say than do. You have created a culture where it is encouraged to actually live out faith and truth as opposed to a culture that despises those who do. I believe there are many organizations, churches and families who can benefit greatly from the teaching, association and culture created by the Team leadership. Thank you for being a leader with a vision of truly making a difference and for developing other leaders who have reached out to families like ours. We are very excited about the IAB award! Congratulations!!

    Blessings,
    Lisa Mangold

  11. Bill Lewis said

    This group definitely picked the right leader to recognize as the best. Orrin and Laurie are truly an amazing couple. Their attitude, drive, faith and patience is immeasurable. I am very honored to be following them and to be counted as one of their students. Thank you for every thing you have done to help all of us.

  12. Tom Bauman said

    Congratulations Orrin! Words don’t describe how deserving of this recognition you are! The Russel Crowe quote from “Gladiator” comes to mind..
    “..Brothers! What we do in LIFE, echoes in eternity!”
    The impact your leadership, courage, grace, and vision has cast out, is sending ripples through time and will affect generations to come in a way none of us could ever measure! All I can say is, thank you. It’s an honor to be associated with you. Congratulations again! May our Heavenly Father continue to bless you!

    Regards,
    Tom & Claire Bauman

  13. Jeanette and Bob Pike said

    Congratulations Orrin! We are so thankful to the Lord for your leadership and the LIFE TEAM leadership that He has put into our path. Without going into my whole testimony, I would like to share one excerpt that I journaled back in 10/07. “There are alot of judges, but no helpers; alot of critics, but no teachers; alot of excuses, but no examples; and alot of titles, but no leaders ~ God help us!” This obviously exhibited my frustration with wanting to grow, but not having many true examples to learn from ~ in the temporal sence. My husband and I are coming upon our 1 year annivesary in joining TEAM/LIFE and I dare say God has answered our prayer to find and learn HOW to become better leaders thru this business. Thank you, and all the PC, for your relentless determination to stand up for what is right and the courage to follow through with your convictions, as well as the many trials you have endured to be a beacon of light! Carpe Diem! God Bless! ~Jeanette

  14. Rob Crichlow said

    Great job Orrin. There is no way that I can measure the positive impact you have had on me, my family, and my team. Thanks for leading based on principles and character. I am excited about 2012!

  15. Patrick Pflederer said

    Congratulations Orrin!

  16. Ryan Pflederer said

    Congratulations Orrin!!! This is only the first of many to come, for both you, the rest of the PC, and other LIFE TEAM members. I am truly thankful for the inspiration you’ve been to me and others around me and the difference the information you and the PC provide has made in our lives.
    You are most definitely a leader worth following, keep it up!

    God Bless,
    Ryan Pflederer

  17. Orrin,

    Thanks to you and Laurie for your willingness to lead and to share the principles you have learned along your life and leadership journey.
    Your accomplishment is a tribute to your leading with strength and grace when others wouldn’t.

  18. Dan and Robin Adams said

    Orrin:

    Robin and I are very proud of you and Congratulate you on being awarded the IAB. You have stood the ground of truth, followed and applied leadership principles, and Dreamed BIG enough for the whole world to see! Orrin, you are a humble servant and a tower of strength. A man with a vision, a burning luminosity, and a yearn to reach the world’s heart. God bless you Orrin!

    Dan and Robin Adams

  19. Your example, just through this sincere and heartfelt post of thanks, is one of the many reasons you are deserving of this incredible award. I am thankful daily that God opened my heart to this information and the leadership of Team. This is one of many awards to come for you and Laurie as we go to millions. Thank you for your courage to do what most will never do!

  20. Michelle Hamilton said

    Congratulations Orrin, to you and Laurie both! I am ever grateful and honored to be a part of this amazing community!

  21. From the first cd we listened to in the 1st Night Pack, which was yours :), we knew we found what we had been looking for in our life. A leader whose heart is as big as the universe, we appreciate you so much. You brought hope back into our lives when there was very little left. Thanks Orrin

  22. So proud and honored to be affiliated with you and LIFE. An honor well deserved and we know it is just a start to where you are headed. Thank you for your endless Leadership

    God Bless
    John and Penny

  23. Gary Severson said

    Orrin, I appreciate you for your example. I’ve never before known a person who has earned more recognition in a career field, especially as noble as “leadership development”, who raises the bar on himself and dedicates his life to living up to those richly deserved accolades, in a culture where we’ve been taught to “look out for #1”. Thank you and Laurie for having the courage to constantly do what’s right and for your unwaivering love.
    ~ Gary S.

  24. Yancy Mejia-Chaj said

    Congratulations Orrin Woodward For your accomplishment and for paving the way for all of us and generations to come in all that you do to make a difference in this world

  25. Jeff and Patrice Caldwell said

    How amazing is that! Here you are Orrin, getting recognized as one of the greatest leadership minds of our time and you are giving the praise and thanks to others. What an example of a true leader. So blessed to have met you and Laurie and to be a part of this leadership community. You certainly deserve this award.

    Jeff and Patrice Caldwell

Leave a Reply

 
